top of page
Search

Is Love Island making us dumb?

Hi everyone. I'm pretty sure a significant amount of the UK population watch Love Island. If you don't know what it is, it's basically a bunch of girls and guys thrown into a villa trying to find love.


Season 4 began on the 4th June and since then my head has been shaking but I can't stop watching it!!! Some contestants show a real lack of intelligence or basic understanding of anything happening in the world, I want to raise the question, if shows like Love Island are making it acceptable for young people to ignore what's happening with current affairs and just focus on a career selling and promoting brands on Instagram?


If you watch the show, I'm sure Hayley made your jaw drop once or twice. How does the girl think we won't have trees once leaving the European Union???? Click here to see the clip.




Hayley also goes on to say that Spain is in the United Kingdom and "what's the difference between a county and a country?" oh and let's not forget, "I'm from Liverpool which is a country". I'm pretty sure everyone had their heads in the palms of their hands at this point. There are speculations that Hayley was putting on this 'dumb' act for the cameras, however, it baffles me that you would want to be known for having such little knowledge of anything so I believe this is actually who she is.


I don't believe promoting brands on Instagram is a bad thing. However, I also believe many of the younger generation just want to seek fame quickly through reality shows, such as Love Island, to then have an easier life all together - you can see this from last year's winner, Amber Davies and close friend within the villa, Olivia Atwood who have gained over 1 million followers since being on the show. You can also tell that those who have striven to accomplish professional roles don't really fit in with the whole reality show vibe. For example, Alex, a contestant on the show (I do love you Alex), a professional doctor has struggled because most of the girls just focus on looks, or in Hayley's case again she doesn't want someone who's too professional... honestly this girl blows my mind!!


With Hayley, I believe much of the nation found entertainment in laughing at her lack of brain cells, it should be worrying that someone can know so little about the country they live in but probably knows everything about hair extensions.


Overall, I love to watch the show BUT I do believe they can portray the wrong type of image for young females!


What do you guys think? Let me know in the comment section below or tweet me @xianpelaez98!


Until next time,

Xian xx

7 comments

NEVER MISS A BLOG POST

bottom of page